Cake From Heaven

Posted on

Is anyone else out there obsessed with strawberries?  They might as well be made of crack because I can’t get enough of them (and, you know, that’s how I am about my crack, too 🙂 ).  Every summer I end up trying to eat a whole year’s worth in one season before the sad time of year when I have to get my fix from Berry Burst Cheerios and McDonalds Sundaes.  This year the berry sickness is intense as will be (I’m sure) the withdrawl.

I thought I’d be able to keep myself in berries this year by “growing my own”, but I grossly overestimated the production capability of my one, small, immature strawberry plant.  But the berries it does produce are flippin adorable!  (Can you tell this is my first summer ever growing anything?  I’m smitten.)

Strawberry Plant

Though my evil plot for a magical back yard berry factory fell short, I have found a way to get my strawberry fix.  And it involves help from above.  From the Angels, to be exact.  Behold Strawberry Trifle.  

Strawberry Trifle

I combined several recipes and added some customization of my own to come up with the final product, which I’ve been eating for dessert and also for breakfast 🙂  Its good for me!  Believe it or not, the cake is low sugar and low fat.  I tried it out on a group of friends and didn’t tell them it was healthy until after they devoured it.  They were shocked.  But that is what you get when Heaven helps you make dessert.

The Recipe:

  • 1 Angel Food Cake (its really easy and much yummier if you bake it yourself from a mix than if you get it from the grocery store bakery, allthough that will do in a pinch – and the bonus is that some stores do have ready-made sugar free angel food cakes)
  • Two packages of sugar free instant pudding mix (I have used combinations of white chocolate, cheesecake, and vanila flavors and it always tastes good)
  • One small tub of fat free whipped topping
  • 2 quarts of strawberries, sliced
  • 1/4 cup of Splenda (or sugar if you need a rush)
  • 1 cup of fat free sour cream or plain nonfat yogurt
  • 2 cups of milk

Bake and cool angel food cake and then cut or tear into bite-size pieces.

In a medium bowl, combine both packages of pudding with the two cups of milk and mix until thick and relatively smooth.  Add the yogurt or sour cream and mix until blended.

Place strawberries in another bowl and mix with splenda until coated. 

In a Trifle bowl or big serving bowl, layer the ingredients as follows:

  • Cake pieces
  • Pudding mixture
  • Strawberries
  • Whipped Topping

       Repeat

Garnish with whole strawberries and dig in!

One response »

  1. YUMMO!! You’ve GOT to make this again for our next cell group! I have a trifle bowl that I got for Christmas that is still in the box. Maybe I should make this as my first trible experiment.

    Reply

Leave a comment